Well, it took so bloody long to sign up for this thing and pick out theme, etc etc, that I’ve completely forgotten what it was I wanted to say!

It’s also very hot in my office right now because the damn a/c isn’t working so I’m in no mood to come up with anything at the moment.

That being said, here’s some food for thought that I’d previously published in a note on Facebook:

CHANGE YOUR VOCABULARY

In the movie ‘Amistad’, the lawyer representing the slaves comes to them to tell them that his strategy did not work and that they would be returned to their captors. He tells the translator to tell them that he tried. The translator says nothing. The lawyer asks why he won’t tell them and the translator says he can’t, there’s no word in their language for ‘try’, “You either do something, or you don’t.”

I’ve always found that to be a powerful moment. Think about it: the word ‘Try’ doesn’t even exist in other languages! So when you’re asked if you did something, there’s no safety net, there is no “I tried”. The answer is either yes or no, what a fantastic concept!

Think about how often you use the word ‘Try’. I’m sure it’s at least once a day. Someone tells you do this, and you say “I’ll try”. or someone asked, did you do this? and you say ‘I tried, but…”

Here’s my challenge to each of you: remove ‘Try’ from your vocabulary, along with all it’s cousins like “I’ll do my best” or “I’ll see what i can do”, etc.
Either do something, or don’t do it. And when you couldn’t do something, don’t say “I tried”, like that’s some kind of excuse. Just say “No, I didn’t” and deal with the repercussions. Be more accountable for your actions or inactions. Trust me, it’s harder than you think…

And to quote Sean Connery and Nicholas Cage in ‘The Rock’:
Cage: I’m doing my best!
Connery: Your best? Losers always whine about their best…winners go home and f*ck the prom queen.

Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

